Leadership Education Basics

Thomas Jefferson Education is an education philosophy that builds leaders. It is often referred to as Leadership Education. First of all, TJEd is not really a method, in and of itself. One can use almost any method and still apply TJEd principles, which are grounded in the Seven Keys and the Phases of Learning.

For example, the Montessori method, Unschooling, a focus on family culture, and working and playing together are wonderful for children in Core Phase. Charlotte Mason, Unit Studies, Epic Adventure, and many others are a tremendous guide for children in the Love of Learning Phase. A child is ready for Scholar Phase when she willingly submits to a demanding mentor and has a powerful sense of mission that drives her to immerse herself in the study of subjects of her own choosing for several hours each day. At this point, many other methods and curricula can be used to supplement a personalized education plan.

Is TJEd just for homeschool?

No. You can learn more about creating a TJEd classroom in any school by reading in Dr. DeMille’s book, A Thomas Jefferson Education.

What are the “phases of learning?”

Core Phase (ages birth – 8 yrs.)
Love of Learning Phase (8 yrs. – 12 yrs.)
Scholar Phase (12 yrs. – 16 yrs.)
Depth Phase (College or equivalent)
Mission Phase (Change the World)

Note: Ages are approximations, and may vary individually by several years.

Interested in more information?

Introductory Movie [NEED LINK AND PAGE]

Seven Keys of Leadership Education [NEED LINK AND PAGE]


Love of Learning Phase [NEED LINK AND PAGE]

Scholar Phase [NEED LINK AND PAGE]

Five Environments of Mentoring [NEED LINK AND PAGE]

Suggested Reading List [NEED LINK AND PAGE]

Resources to Learn More